Skip primary navigation

Julie Crisp

Name:

Julie Crisp

About:

Editorial Director Tor UK: discovered the joys of science fiction after reading Dune at ten and hasn't looked back since. Enjoys reading and publishing all styles of fantasy, horror and mind-bendingly good science fiction. Loves single malts, discussions about covers, and red pens. Is quietly determined to take over the universe one book at a time. Twitter: @julieacrisp

Related posts

01 Jan 2013

3

LOOKING TO THE FUTURE

Well the world didn’t end on 21st December, which is nice. And now we can start looking ahead to the future because that’s what we in SFF like to do! 8-) And the year ahead looks pretty darn good. Aside from all the great books we have scheduled, we have some pretty important milestones to celebrate on the list as well.

In 2013 Tor UK will have been operating for ten years! And while we may not have the size or impressive reputation of our sister imprint Tor in the US – we like to think that we’ve had a little bit of an impact in genre publishing here over the last ten years. So watch this space for Ten years of Tor and all the fun we’re going to have with that…

This year will mark the fact that we’ve been publishing the space opera legend Peter F. Hamilton for twenty years. Some marriages don’t last that long!!

 

We’ve also been brewing lots of nefarious schemes in our little heads and there may very well be some interesting announcements forthcoming in the next few months. Yes hint, hint, hint…

But back to the books. We have some REALLY great novels coming in 2013 and to spread the wealth and share the joy, here’s just some of the titles that we’re really excited about. We’ve restrained ourselves by picking just a few titles each (and that was no easy task I can tell you!).

From Julie Crisp - Editorial Director Tor UK

In June we have one of the books that I’ve been raving about since I bought it. And if you haven’t heard me banging on about it – where have you been?! Reviver by Seth Patrick is a fantastic cross-genre thriller featuring a forensic revival team who can bring back the recently dead in an attempt to discover who killed them. Mixing the police procedural and crime scene investigation excitement of CSI with a pinch of the horror of The Exorcist, this fantastic novel is sure to appeal to everyone who loves Stephen King and Justin Cronin. The film rights were picked up by Legendary Entertainment and we’ve just got uncorrected bound proofs in! Very much looking forward to getting people’s reactions on this one – everyone in-house has LOVED it.

Then I have two storming novels publishing in October. Both on the same day in fact. But of a very different nature. Drakenfeld by Mark Charan Newton is the highly-anticipated novel from the author of the Legends of the Red Sun series. Moving on from the slightly as he says, ‘weird’ fantasy, of the Legends world, he takes us now to a landscape inspired by Byzantium and Ancient Rome.  Playing on his love of crime writing and history, Mark’s new novel is a fantastic mix with a main character working to uncover a killer and negotiating the politics and underbelly of a city he barely recognizes anymore. It’s brilliant!

On a much darker note comes the genuinely terrifying House of Small Shadows by the award-winning master of horror Adam Nevill. If you’ve read any of his previous books you know what a spine-tingling writer he is, someone whose books really do give you nightmares. This one is no exception. Following a young woman as she steps into the Red House to value some of its most peculiar treasures you’re drawn into a world of madness and horror as she encounters some of the house’s more interesting artifacts. For anyone who’s ever caught that glassy-eyed stare of an Ancient doll and felt that frisson of fear – this one’s for you!

I’ve just noticed that Bella has snuck in some honourable mentions so that’s totally acceptable for me to do as well! Keep your eyes peeled for the second in the series of the Lotus War continuing from the astounding Stormdancer- Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff . The second (huge – weighing in at over 800 pages so far) novel from Malice author John Gwynne who we just published last month and there’s also the third novel (currently untitled) in the series by Col Buchanan following on from Farlander and Stands in Shadow. There – now I’ll stop cheating… ahem.

From Bella Pagan – Senior Commissioning Editor at Tor UK

Now January 2013 is here, I too am thinking ahead to a packed year of exciting bookish highlights. It’s so hard to narrow these down to just two, but so this is a post rather than an essay, here’s goes!

Firstly, the wonderful urban fantasy debut The Trouble with Fate is out this month (whooot!). After all the excitement (see news of the deal announcement and cover launch for starters) it’s hard to believe publication time is upon us, and this is a very special book. We do get sent a *lot* of urban fantasy for consideration, so there’s stiff competition, but this one shouted out to be bought. Perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs and Keri Arthur, this is a funny, exciting and fast-paced story of a half-werewolf, half-fae trying to come out ahead of her dangerous half-blood heritage. There are fae assassins! There are danger! And there is some heart-string pulling (awww). But Hedi is an all-action heroine to keep things sharp and the story really moves. Waterstones loved it too, selecting this book to send out to their keen Brave New World panel of genre booksellers (you can see them on twitter as @Watsbravenew). Lastly, bestseller Karen Chance summed up the book in great style ‘It’s rare to find a debut novel with a well-crafted world, a great story and dynamic characters, but this book has them all. I was grabbed early and hooked to the very end.’

My next heads-up for 2013 isn’t out until September, so we’ll just have to hold out ’til then. But worth the wait! This is Cherie Priest’s new Clockwork Century novel, Fiddlehead. Cherie Priest has built a name for herself for powerful storytelling, strong female protagonists and wonderfully researched and depicted steampunk worldbuilding. And of course her novel Boneshaker is lauded as one of the best steampunk novels of recent years. Fiddlehead is set within this world, and focuses on a notorious spy, Belle Boyd, and her latest and most dangerous mission. And what could be cooler than a giant slice of steampunk spy action? Throw in a giant predictive calculating engine (telling of the end of the world!), Abraham Lincoln and counter-espionage shenanigans and we’re really onto something amazing. You can find out more about the plot here and there  are more posts about Cherie and her world here.

If I am allowed ‘honorable mentions’ too, we are also publishing Charles Stross’ magnificent Merchant Princes series from April. These are amazing near-future SF thrillers with an alternate history twist. We’ll be publishing the six book series as three hefty omnibus editions, with knock-out covers with text being the ‘author’s cut’ as he reedited for these editions. Also in April, we have the 20th Anniversary Edition of the Arthur C. Clarke Award winning Vurt by Jeff Noon. This handsome hardback will feature a foreword by Lauren Beukes and three original short stories set in the world of Vurt.

From Louise Buckley – Editorial Assistant at Tor UK

Untitled Paul Cornell: In 2012 I raced through Paul Cornell’s urban fantasy, London Falling. Fast-paced and full of quirky characters and sinister happenings, London Falling (or, Operation Toto and the Wicked Witch of West Ham) has everything you need for a rollicking bumpy ride. Which is why I’m looking forward to finding out what other evils Paul – and London – has in store for us in Paul’s next offing.

Detective Inspector James Quill and his assorted team of demon-busters have hit a low point. Desperate to find a case to justify the team’s existence, Quill thinks he’s struck gold when a cabinet minister is murdered by a mysterious assailant.  A second murder, that of the Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police, presents a crime scene with a message… identical to that left by the original Jack the Ripper.

 Investigating this supernatural menace takes Quill and his team to the corridors of power at Whitehall, to meetings with ‘the funny people’ at MI5 and the nefarious occult London underworld, whilst the killer keeps on killing. As they journey to find a pattern to the killings, members of Quill’s team travel on a shamanistic flight to the land of the Rat King, interview witnesses in hell, and discover that the author Neil Gaiman turns out to be one of the team’s most important sources for underworld knowledge. But not everyone survives the journey in tact . . .

Tidal and Elegy by Amanda Hocking

Okay, I know I’m cheating by picking two books, but you can’t have the third book without the fourth and as both are published next year I thought I’d whack them both in. Featuring beautiful sirens, oodles of danger, deadly secrets, and a romance in jeopardy, Amanda Hocking’s Watersong series is pure escapism. I can’t wait to find out what happens in the third and final novels in the quartet.

With Penn and Lexi determined to kill Gemma and replace her with another siren, Gemma’s life is in grave danger . . . unless she can break the curse before it’s too late. With the help of Harper and Daniel, she’ll delve deep into her enemies’ mythical past – and their darkest secrets. It’s her only hope of saving everything she holds dear: her family, her life, and her relationship with Alex – the only guy she’s ever loved.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3

Comments on “LOOKING TO THE FUTURE”

  1. January 1, 2013 at 11:47 am Tom says:

    Please please PLEASE tell me there’s a brand new China Miéville novel coming in 2013. I’ve been checking Amazon (.com and .co.uk) as well as the Pan Macmillan site constantly since August or so for something to pop up. I can’t subsist without a new one from him each year.

    • January 9, 2013 at 11:20 am Julie Crisp says:

      Glad you’re such a fan! All I can tell you is that China is writing, but you just can’t rush pure genius! :-) So watch this space…

  2. January 3, 2013 at 1:21 pm Jamie Gibbs says:

    Happy 10th Birthday (when it comes up)! That’s a hell of a good run :)

    Looking forward to the rest in the Clockwork Century series, and I can’t wait to get stuck into London Falling (still on the TBR shelf but begging to be read!)

    Jamie

Reply